Monday marked the end of Mommy’s 3-month stint at home – otherwise known as Maternity Leave. It’s been a sad past few days but all and all we’ve been managing. Max is such a good little boy. We’ve been telling Max that he’s going to school and thinking about it that way makes the process of him going to Daycare much easier.
We’ve even got a little morning routine going on. We wake up around 7 a.m., Max eats, Daddy & Mommy dress Max for the day and then we all go into our room and Max watches Mommy get ready and make the bed. Max and Daddy leave for “school” at 7:35 a.m. or soooo… and Mommy finishes getting ready. The few minutes that I have alone without my boys are sad but I’ve been managing.
Max and Mommy - Max's First Day of School & Mommy Goes Back to Work
| Bundled up and Ready to Go - Daddy and Max |
On Monday and Tuesday of this week, Max arrived at Daycare and slept for the first 1.5 hours of the morning – my little sleeper. He didn’t even know Daddy dropped him off. Today was a different story as he was awake… Daddy explained to him that he wasn’t leaving him he was just dropping him off and we would see him in a few hours. Again he is a good boy so he didn’t cry when Daddy left, Daddy assured of this 3 times this morning. Love my little guy!
My days back have been busy and it feels like I’ve never left, except I miss my angel. I’m pumping so that my Maxwell has his milk for the following day so the 3 times a day that I do that, break up the day and help things move faster – it’s like a mini-goal. Make it til 10:20 a.m. pump and then look forward to the next time because your that much closer to seeing Max again. It’s sorta like in car navigation – ‘You’ve got 300 miles until you turn left’, it’s giving you a goal. ‘Arrival time 10:30 p.m.’ and you think to yourself, let’s beat that time. Goals!
Anywho, yes I’m back to work and it’s like I didn’t leave. I think it helps that I really enjoy my job and I love the people I work with. I’ve had so many friendly visitors pop in or come visit to say ‘Welcome Back and Congratulations!’, both in the front of the office and from the plant. It’s very sweet and I love the connection that I have with everyone. I suppose that’s one of the perks of working for a large/small company. It feels like a family! Here’s a funny story – I go to put my expressed breast milk in my bosses fridge and I find a half gallon of milk and a yogurt from June. Yep those were both mine, like I said it’s like I didn’t leave.
So how am I a CHEMIST you ask? Well, as I mentioned above I’m pumping/expressing my milk and the process of it is hilarious. First, I’m one of those lucky people that have their own office with a door that locks, yippie! So I’ve set my pump up under my desk. When it’s time to pump I sit on the floor (under my desk), lock my door and turn out the light (if the lights on people will knock and well that could be annoying). The process takes about 10 minutes but then you have to clean up, ready things for my next session, combine the bottles and put everything away. I feel like I’ve got my little chemistry set and I’m making magic or something, plus I’m hanging out under my desk (picture it people). I am also very much afraid that I’m going to forget to lock the door so my obsessive compulsive self has to get up at least 3 times before I start to double check that it is locked! It is very funny! Then when I go home at night I’ve got to clean my equipment and get bottles ready for Max the next day. We use different bottles for feeding so I’ve got to take the bottles out of the expressed bottles and into the ‘Tommy Toppie’ bottles. This crap is stopping this weekend. I’m buying new Medela bottles and putting an end to this. (I’ve really got plenty of Medela bottles but I have frozen milk in them and don’t want to dethaw and waste, so I’m buying more.) Ah, is it a process and over the course of this week I’ve begun to call myself a Chemist! Hey I was a Biology major for a time – I can do it!
Hey I’ll engage in all this chemistry for my little man because he’s worth it. I haven’t officially weighted him this week, but I am going to do so tonight. I’m guessing – and this is a guess – that’s he around 18lbs. as the size 2 diapers are starting to be a little snug. Speaking of diapers I am very upset to discover that only the Pampers Sensitive diapers have the color changing line on the front and these diapers are not available at Sam’s Club. WTF people! These silly lines should be on all diapers… why aren’t they? Plus the Sensitive diapers are literally .5” bigger than the regular Pampers 2s. Which is soo much better! Ah diapers diapers diapers!
Alright the off to do some more chemistry!!
No comments:
Post a Comment