I’m going to take moment to warn everyone that’s reading this post, that this will be one of my very few posts that may sound a little political but I can’t help myself… don’t worry as with all my posts it does tie into my little family.
Before I start I will begin with a picture of my little angel!
![]() |
| Yep, Daddy picked out this outfit! |
![]() |
| Yep, Mommy picked out this one!! Love it! |
![]() |
| Isn't he perfect! |
Okay now the semi-political stuff ~
So the other day I’m sitting in my office and I over hear a conversation that is happening in the hallway. Someone is discussing with someone else how their pregnant sister gave them her prenatal vitamins because she was about to have her baby and didn’t need them anymore, and what did it matter anyway because she had gotten them for FREE. My face immediately turned BRIGHT RED. I had payed $75 dollars for a bottle of my prenatal vitamins – which equates to $2.50 a pill. Now I wanted to make sure my little pumpkin got the best prenatal care, so naturally I sucked it up and even continued to eat the cost after his birth… why because I wanted the best care and was willing to pay for it. So why did I turn red might you ask, because this chick was getting them for FREE!!!! FOR FREEE!!! FOR FREEE!!!
So this brings me to my point, did you notice how I stated that she didn’t care that she was giving them away because she was due in 2 weeks and wasn’t taking them anymore, in addition to the FREE part. She didn’t care she was due in 2 weeks, well any former or current prego will tell you – TAKE THE DAMN PILLS UNTIL YOU GIVE BIRTH TO THE DAMN BABY. I can’t help but feel if she was paying for the damn pills she’d be taking them and not be giving them away. When things are for free we toss them to the waste side like they are garbage, why because it was free so it must not have any value… does it matter that I am paying full price over here for the same product? Not to someone who got it for free.
This brings me to my second point. For those of us that were honored to have had our children in an urban hospital – ie Youngstown Ohio –we have found a few things interesting, this is what Kevin and I observed. Half, if not more than half, of the patients there had no medical insurance, and so they were getting their care for free. We also discovered that the nursing staff was used to getting told off and treated badly because they were very hesitant to be nice when they first came into your room. We also noticed that many of the new moms were smoking – seriously you just had a kid and you are outside smoking. Our room’s window had a great view of the where you would come in and out to get the maternity ward and we saw countless new mothers out there in their robes smoking cigarettes and in one case a prego mom out there smoking in her bathrobe. Was she in labor.. Probably and needed that damn cigarette. Are you kidding me?
I also remember when I was first admitted laughing when I was asked – are you on any kind of drugs today. I looked at the nurse and said, “Oh yea, I just had my fix out in the car before I came up.” She gave me a very serious look to which I quickly fixed my statement and said “NO” I couldn’t help myself. It was such an awkward question I thought it was funny to joke about… she then told me I would be surprised by the number of mothers that came in there and were on drugs. I was shocked. Why do these mothers care so little?
The answer is this, because they are going to get everything taken care of for nothing. If they knew that they were going to have to pay for the healthcare of their unborn child would they take better care of it? I think so. Here’s another simile, when your growing up and your mother tells you to pick up your room do you… no… why because she’ll do it for you… but when it’s your house and your clothes that you paid for do you take better care of them? I certainly hope so!
How can these new mothers possibly care for these children properly when they’ve had no responsibility of the child yet. They’ve paid for nothing for this child and will continue to receive things for them for free… so why properly care for it… the government will do it for you.
I’m going to continue this rant with something I heard on Howard Stern today – yes I know Howard is very liberal but I think he’s starting to see the problem with Obama care. Howard knows someone who is working to support her family as her husband is out of work. She makes enough money that she isn’t eligible for Obamacare so she has to provide healthcare for her family. She pays $1500 a month for a family of 2 adults, her and her husband, and 1 child. Her insurance is so crappy it is barely accepted at most places, but she has to have it. If she was making less money she could get the government healthcare, which is a million times better than what she has. How is the right! How is that these people that don’t work and live off the government are being afforded better care than the people that are busting there asses?? How!! And why would these people possibly take better care of themselves when if they do get sick everything is going to be taken care of for them.
So what’s the solution? Charge them something. Something! Whether it’s a total bill of $500 or $100… charge them something. Somehow these same people find the money for the newest shoes, the pretty nails or whatever else, charge them something. Make them have some responsibility for their child’s care and for the care of themselves. Some people will say – they will never pay it – well maybe this money should then be deducted from their welfare check or food stamps over time. Or maybe their child is taken away from them if they can’t pay for them or maybe they have to do community service to pay off their debts. We have to make people accountable, just as you and I are.
Is it SOCIALLY RESPONSIBLE for us to take all the SELF RESPONSIBILITY away from everyone? If we continue to take care of EVERYONE they will stop taking care of themselves? It’s proven that wild animals once fed by humans will stop hunting for themselves, and start coming back to you to take care of them. Aren’t people the same?
Now I am going to end this post with one last statement. NOT EVERYONE TAKES ADVANTAGE OF THE SYSTEM! There are people out there that GENUALLY need help, whether they are laid off, fired or just NEED IT. These people deserve to be helped, and will over time get new jobs and pay back what they earned. This is what the system was made for…
"I'm all for helping the helpless, not the hopeless!" ~ Kevin Hopkinson



No comments:
Post a Comment