As I promised... to be continued... After a wonderful 3 day stay at the hospital it was time to go home. As I previously said our stay was wonderful - the staff and doctors were the best, but we had to go. So on Sunday, July 10th we made the trip home. However, we had one quick stop to make first. We had to stop and visit Grandma and Grandpa H., since they couldn't visit us in the hospital and it was very important to us to visit them. The "boppy" pillow made it very easy for everyone to hold Max - and if I can say so myself grandma was going to hold him whether we had that pillow or not. It was so nice to see them and Max was super excited - okay he slept the entire time but I know if he was able to understand he would have been super excited.
After our trip to the Herman's we headed home, to meet our first born - Guinness. Kevin and I weren't the least bit worried about this meeting, but everyone had been asking us over and over again about it so the anticipation was killing us. Guinness was a little mad at his mommy and daddy as he didn't understand why we hadn't been home for the past few days and why Grandma and Grandpa had been. At first he was a little weary of the car seat, but when I set it down on the ground & took little Max out Guinness instantly understood - it was his baby!! He ran over and kissed Max all over! Best friends forever! Well mostly Guinness ignores Max, when he's crying he checks him out and kisses him, but mostly he just does his own thing and watches over his baby. When new people are holding Max he checks them out first and kisses his baby. I can't wait to see how this relationship grows as Max becomes mobile. Right now, it's mostly eat, sleep, poop, talk, etc etc... pretty simple.
The first few days at home were pretty easy to be honest. Max slept pretty good at night and well pretty good during the day too. It was nice because my mom stayed with us those first few days while we settled... we really appreciated it and are excited for her to come back. :) Anytime you want G-Ma!
My mom (G-Ma N.) a week after Max was born. It's funny when she left I said to her that all hell was going to break lose now that she was gone - and boy was I right....
"The Infection"
I woke up the first morning after my mom had left - FREEZING!! I actually ran and grabbed Max another blanket because I figured if I was cold he had to be. I then called my mother to ask her for advice as my boob was rock solid (I'm breastfeeding so I figured that there was something wrong there). She told me to take a shower and see if I couldn't "work it out". Well that barely helped.. I was still feeling AWFUL. So Kevin took my temperature and we called the doctor. Her nurse - Missy - talked to Dr. P. and we determined that it was most likely a boobie infection - Mistetius - it's very common among us breast-feeders. It was horrible, but they called in an antibiotic for me and I was put on Tylenol.
Thankfully G-Ma C. was free that day, because she came over and together her and Kevin cared for Max while I rested and re-cooperated. It was a very emotional day for me, but I made it through and all is well now. Still anyone who has had a boobie infection will tell you - it's horrible - and I understand why people give up breastfeeding after I had this experience - however, I strongly suggest you work though it and continue with it because the bond you form from feeding is amazing and it's very beneficial to babies. I wouldn't have it any other way... I know several friends who are / have breastfed and all of their babies are beautiful and let's be honest people - it saves you a TON of money and in this economy any savings you can get is awesome - breast milk is free milk! Although it's a choice and everyone has the right to decide what they want to do...No judgement here! I get it!!
Thankfully G-Ma C. was free that day, because she came over and together her and Kevin cared for Max while I rested and re-cooperated. It was a very emotional day for me, but I made it through and all is well now. Still anyone who has had a boobie infection will tell you - it's horrible - and I understand why people give up breastfeeding after I had this experience - however, I strongly suggest you work though it and continue with it because the bond you form from feeding is amazing and it's very beneficial to babies. I wouldn't have it any other way... I know several friends who are / have breastfed and all of their babies are beautiful and let's be honest people - it saves you a TON of money and in this economy any savings you can get is awesome - breast milk is free milk! Although it's a choice and everyone has the right to decide what they want to do...No judgement here! I get it!!
No comments:
Post a Comment