A Bad Day on the Course

A Bad Day on the Course
Maxwell Thomas

Monday, April 30, 2012

Doctor's Appointment & A Moving Baby

 Okay so I promised to try and update my blog more regularly.  Here it goes. So since I last updated we have had a pretty relaxing few days. Here we go…

So last week we had our 9 month checkup, Max was actually 9 months and 15 days. He, of course, is measuring big… but perfect as can be.  He’s 29.5” long – 82%, 24.1 lbs. – 87% and 18” head circum. - 97%. He’s right on track and his growth is perfect.  The nurse actually remarked to us that he weights as much as a 2-year old… haha!  He’s going to be just like his daddy! Perfect! Thank goodness mommy just bought Max new clothes, he’s definitely outgrown what he has! 

Speaking of “Just like his daddy”, he’s starting to look more and more like daddy everyday! He’s really taken the best of both of us, and I can proudly say he’s very handsome.  <Cue Proud Mother Music>

Since Max has gotten MOBILE, he’s really started to get into everything and his newest and favorite activity is tracking Guinness down and loving on him.  Max will be across the room and find his way into Guinness’s area.  Whether it is on Guinness’s bed, in Guinness’s cage or on top of him – if he sees Guinness he’s got to be there with him.  Guinness overall has been very receptive of this new fondness and for the most part loves Max back, but you can tell he’s thinking  - oh my not again.  Ha!  It will be very interesting once Max is walking on his own how Guinness handles it. I think we will find him hiding in our bedroom often. Ha!  As with all babies and doggies regardless of breed, we are always watching both of them, Guinness is great with Max but doggies can get annoyed… you should always watch them.

Wow… we really haven’t done much of anything fun these past few weeks, which I hate to say is awesome! We are really looking forward to some continuously nice weather.  Max loves “LOVES” being outside and he can not wait to be outside more.  I’m going to have to spend some $$ and buy some new outside toys – ie a stand up sandbox and stuff like that. Babies are not that expensive, but the toys and stuff are.  We will also have to buy a blow up baby pool – something fun! And I’m thinking this summer we are going to have to have daddy and papa build Max a fort at papa’s house.. he’ll love that!  OH I can not wait for all the exciting things this summer will bring… the Zoo, swimming, golf???, walking, running.. etc.

With our little man moving I’ve also got a bet out there that he will be walking by my 29th birthday – which is a 21 days away… we’ll see how he does, but already he’s walking holding only 1 of our hands and he’s got the “cruising” thing down to a science. He also has no problem pulling himself up and he recently figured out how to get up at least one step.  Well have to see how he does with multiple steps this weekend at Grandma and Grandpa Nesgoda’s house, see if he can’t escape “The Pit.” Speaking of which if they are reading this they should probably start baby proofing their house now!!!!!!!! You’ve got 5 days to get it ready you should start early!

Daddy and Max - Love this photo! Too bad it's grainy!

Loving the Puffs/Yogart Bites!

 


Papa what you got in here?







Cruising!

Doing Laundry?

Happy Baby!

Love sunshine!

Hmm, let's get Guinness out of here!

New Big Boy Car Seat!

Monday, April 16, 2012

It’s been a while... It’s time to blog

So much has happened since the last time I had a moment to sit down and blog.  Our little man is so big and so happy. He’s officially crawling, pulling himself up into the standing position, walking with the help of a walker or something to push, and into everything. And by everything I mean all the things he’s not supposed to be into.  IE the dog bowls (to which Guinness patiently waits for us to remove him from), plants, kitchen cabinets, hanging cords and anything else that is potentially at his reach.   He’s amazing.   I actually feel like a fool sometimes, I’m walking around the house saying no, and moving him away from whatever it is he desires only to have him crawl right back to it. And when I say no I feel like I’m telling a dog “NO”. Haha!  Is there a proper way to say “NO?”

Anyways he’s amazing. It was like one day he just got it. Max only started crawling 2 weeks ago, but when he got it boy did he get it.  He learned to crawl and then like the next day he learned how to pull himself up into the standing position in his crib.  I’ve never seen anyone so proud of himself in all my life. He’s so happy he can do it.  So, this has made bed time a little bit of a challenge the past few days, as he’s been trying to stay up later playing in his crib. 

Daddy had to drop the crib down to the lowest level and Max still manages to stand up. Haha!  We’ve found that taking numerous laps of the living room pushing his walker thing exhausts him enough that by bed time he’s OUT!   However, he’s now getting up earlier to show off his standing skills.  And nap time has translated to “play in crib” time. Kevin and I are being firm though letting him play for a few minutes, then walking back into the room and laying him down and saying, “nap time”.  After about 20-30 minutes he’s exhausted himself and is out.  We’re trying to not let up, as we know that when you give children an inch – they take it a mile.  I’ve got to say the first time I found him standing in his crib by himself I clapped! I was so proud!

Max is also quite the ladies man.  Last week my car was in the shop getting the air conditioner fixed for the 100th time (it’s better now so they tell us) so daddy couldn’t get Max early from day care so I had to get him at 5 p.m. Well when I got there I was talking to the ladies and Max wanted me to put him down on the baby gate so he could talk to his friend… so I did and next thing I know he’s trying to kiss her. No joke, trying to kiss her!  I told Max that he was too young to be kissing on girls and that he already has a girlfriend in Columbus, we’ll see if he listens.

Let’s see what else is new with our little man.  Well we’ve been taking him out a lot more than when he was first born.  Actually we take him almost everywhere now, even restaurants to which he is very well behaved as long as he’s got something to eat – ie Mum Mums, Yogurt Melts (his favorite), Puffs, or fruit in his net thing.  He’ll just sit there and eat and check out all the people (he’s a people watcher).  Everyone always complements us on how well behaved he is, but we’ll see how long this lasts, for now we will continue to enjoy his company at the dinner table.

This past weekend, we took Max to the MetroParks Farms by our house, he loved it! They had baby chickies, baby duckies, baby gooslings, baby lambs, baby goats, baby pigs, baby cows, and baby rabbits. He had so much fun! He loves animals, especially doggies (because of Guinness, Phoenix and Henry).  He lights up when he sees animals we can not wait to take him to the zoo, he’s going to have a blast… especially now that he understands so much!

We’ve also been enrolled in swim lessons for the past six weeks, and he’s really enjoyed those.  He’s a great floater and enjoys being on this back and belly swimming around. While the other kids don’t like getting their ears wet he loves it. He’s a natural! The swimming instructor is very taken with him (but then again who isn’t).  He even kicks his legs.  I can’t wait until the summer so we can take him to Sandusky and go swimming in the country club’s pool. I’m so excited. I keep telling Kevin we need a pool or to move near a country club so we can go swimming all the time.  So far our only options in Youngstown are Crabbs Lake (which has fishies in it and I don’t really swim with fish) or a baby pool (which I will be buying).  Swim lessons have been so much fun, I’m sad that they are ending after our class this coming Saturday – boo!

So let’s see one of my last posts was regarding the RSV, I’m proud to say we’ve overcome that awful virus and are completely mended… although since then, and courtesy of daycare, we have had a few other bouts of illness but nothing nearly as serious.  A few tummy aches and things like that. Actually there was one week where I think I was puked on at least once a day. Horrible… but we’ve pushed through. He’s a strong little man like his daddy and stubborn too. We’re starting to see so much personality in him. Like when he’s pissed he loves to scream “Mama” – like I’m going to do something about it.  He’ll even throw little fits when he doesn’t get his way, throwing his whole body on the floor sometimes. Again sometimes you just can’t help but laugh. As for Mommy and Daddy we are holding up nicely and are so happy with our little blessing. It’s true what they say you never understand what it’s like to be a parent until you are! We are so blessed and fortunate and madly in love with him!

I’ll try and get back into posting weekly! I promise!

Now check out my photos from the last few months below. Also I’ve set up a small photography studio in our basement so we’ll be having lots of photos appearing on here!

PLAY TIME!

MAX & HENRY

SO HAPPY:)


Look mom I'm standing - before we lowered crib!

After we lowered the crib - still standing!

His first shinner!

Watching Big Bird!

Kisses from Mommy!

Exhausted after a long day of play!

The Easter Bunny!

Max & Me - I know we have the same eyes!

Very GQ! Right?