A Bad Day on the Course

A Bad Day on the Course
Maxwell Thomas

Thursday, September 22, 2011

11 Weeks Old - 1 Week More Til It's Back to Work

Wow! I can't believe it's been 11 weeks so far... 11 weeks today to be exact! To be honest part of me is ready to go back to work -- and the other part is sad that my time at home with my little Maxwell is over. I'm mostly freaking out about Daycare and being away from him.  What will that be like?  Will he miss me like crazy! Hell will he eat. We've introduced bottles and Max has spent at least one day away from me with my mom, but I have no idea how he will be with complete strangers all day. I'm also not looking forward to him getting sick - as I know Daycares have tons of germs and there's nothing we can do about that - he's gotta go. Okay I'm officially crying now. Oh pathetic mommy! I know he will be just fine! I'm going to be the one missing him like crazy! He's a good boy and will do just fine! (Repeating myself I know!) And mommy  needs to go back to work - my social skills need a little touching up(yea right! - haha), plus I've got lots of ideas and creativeness that needs to get out there.

Daddy's going to go through some withdrawals too.. He's acting all tough and whatnot but I think he's going to miss me and Max not being here - at least he will have the option of going over to his Mom's on her two days a week to spend time with Max if he wants. I hope he does that some days.  That would make mommy happy. I just hope that Max doesn't start loving everyone else more than me. I've done that math - we're only going to have like 4 hours of awake time each night and like 1 hour of awake time each morning so that's like 5 hours a day x 5 days that's only 25 hours a week (of weekday hours at least). Ah! I'm miserable about this. This is really my first time talking about it too - so sorry you all have to read it. Honestly I'm going to be okay. (Keep telling yourself that Danielle!!)

Here are some picture's of Maxwell... I'm honestly guessing on the weeks below! Haha! I'm horrible!

4 weeks old!

1 week old!


7 weeks old! Hanging with dad!


9 weeks old!


9 weeks old!


Okay mom my clothes are getting a little tight - 9 weeks old!


Ah no walk mom come on... please no!! 
Loving my elephants!! Hating pictures!


My little stubborn boy after bath time!! Love him!


Disney movie bed time!! He falls asleep literally two minutes after we start watching! This was a Cinderalla night and just last Sunday! 10.5 weeks!


The shirt says it all - "Mommy Loves Me!"


Today - 11 weeks old!

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Oh No Not Shots!!

A Two Month Update
Max is officially 2 months old now.. well really he's 9 weeks... where does the time go? I'm actually starting to freak out because I know with every passing day I am getting closer and closer to going back to work! I love work, but I know I am going to miss my Maxwell so much! Love him!

It's almost like clockwork - Max turned 2 months old and all of a sudden things began to turn on.. it kind reminds me of Independence Day when the aliens come to earth and the crazy scientist guy tells the President that as soon as they showed up all the gadgets began working... okay strange analogy but you get my point he's becoming such a TODDLER!  

Max is now talking more than ever, looking around and actually seeing things and smiling & laughing when you do funny things! The other day I even got him to mimic me in baby language - well we will call it mommy / baby language because we are starting to have our own communication. He's got great control of his head, he's batting at his toys on the play mat, he's can lift his head to a 45 degree angle down when on his belly, he looks ready to crawl at any moment (but we all know that won't be for a many more months), he grips things nicely (especially Mommy's pretty necklace) and he's almost sleeping through the night. Okay the last one was a lie he's sleeping 10 p.m. til 2:30 or 3:30 a.m. and has made it from that feeding til 7 a.m., although it's not uncommon for him to wake up at 5 a.m. either (we're working on it). He is also more handsome than ever and I love him more and more everyday!

Daddy and I are so happy to have our little guy! Watching Kevin and Max makes me melt, their relationship has truly blossomed! In the beginning Kevin was afraid that Maxwell didn't like him, but now their is no question! Max loves to walk around on top of daddy's shoulder and look around - seeing as Daddy is feet taller than everyone else he sees, he gets to be big boy with daddy. Love it.. I could cry just thinking about it!

Now down to the shots. 
So Maxwell had his 2 month checkup today, which involved the dreaded word  - shots! He did amazing... he's 15 lbs., 23.5" in length, and his 16.5" in head circumference.  He's in the 95% for weight (our little chunker, but seriously he doesn't look chunky) which makes me feel good because I know I'm feeding him enough (it's hard to tell when breastfeeding), 76% for height/length, and 76% for head circumference.  Dr. C. said he's is PERFECT and that mommy and daddy are doing a great job! To which I took a deep exhale because hell we haven't even read any of the baby books.. haha!! We are so happy! Daddy and I are getting an A so far, check back with us on that grade in 18 years hopefully we're still doing good!! :)

After Dr. C. finished checking over Max it was shot time. I quickly handed our little angel over to Kevin and waited. Dr. C. actually left the office (he doesn't do the shots the nurse does... doesn't want to be the bad guy I guess), and the nurse came in. I turned away there was no way I could watch this.  Max got one solution by mouth, he sucked that down, must have thought it was milk - ha ha - and then the needles came out.  Kevin said he thought Max was going to make it through without crying, but soon it came. Kevin said he could feel the pain go from Max's leg all the way up to his face and then out in a wail! He cried and tears (actual tears) fell from his eyes. Soon Mommy was crying too! Two more shots later it was over!  Thank goodness, now both Mommy and Maxwell were crying! Poor Daddy he had to settle us both down. It was awful! But it's all done now - at least for 2 more months!