A Bad Day on the Course

A Bad Day on the Course
Maxwell Thomas

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Playing Catch Up

And to think it took me almost a year to write another blog. My has my little family been busy… 2013 has so far been the best ride yet.  We moved, Max grew up, we had a new baby boy… it’s been fun people. I’m not sure where to start so I’ll just do a little synopsis and try my best to post more regularly in the future. Not that anyone really reads this, this is more of baby life book than anything.

So from Feb – May life was a bit crazy. With Baby #2, Lucas, on the way things were difficult. I had extreme back pain, my hips hurt, and my belly was huge. Once again I had polyhydramis which is having extra fluid in your uterus… my boys like to pee.  Really stretches out my tummy and makes me huge and uncomfortable. Lugging around my little Max made it even worse. Let’s just say I couldn’t wait for May to come so I could meet our little man Lucas!

So on May 21st, the day after my 30th Birthday, Lucas came!! He is beautiful! He’s so different from Max yet very similar. He smiles all the time. He loves to kick and talk and be happy! Everything is very blurry for me the first few months after Max was born but with Lucas it was all so clear. He was sleeper from day one and is absolutely amazing. We love him so much and he fits perfectly into our family! Max even likes him and has been a great big brother! Also kissing and trying to hug and hold him! Lucas already looks up to Max, it’s such a special relationship. I wouldn’t have it any other way!!

 Okay that’s just a quick post about what’s been happening – I’ll most more later!! Stay tuned people!

Monday, February 18, 2013

Yikes! It's February already...

So it’s been months I figured it time I get to work on typing up a new blog. So in this long month time obviously lots has happened. We’ve Sold the 114 Hilltop home and have since (last week) moved into are new home at 815 Blueberry Hill, although both are in Canfield, let’s just say the view from Blueberry is a bit better – very park like. Once we are get things set up I’ll post some pictures. So hard to do when you’ve got a 3 ton belly in the way things take a bit longer and it’s a bit harder to  move around.

I’ll start a ways back and try to move forward catching up with all the important events along the way.  Christmas this year was good. I was extremely sick, although I did have a nasty cold which ended up in a sinus infection. When I was prego with Max I took nothing – no Tylenol even… but with this little guy I had no choice. I’m not sure if it was a cold or the flu but I wasn’t feeling good what so ever!! So I took some Tylenol and you’d think had taken miracle meds I felt so much better!  But of course it didn’t last long and I would be ready right at the 6-8 hour mark for more. Either way, we made it to Christmas relatively put together and enjoyed the holiday with Family & Friends.  I know next year in our big house with the new little guy is going to be even better! We are so excited to grow this little family and Max is going to be an amazing big brother.

Speaking of Max, I’m sure everyone is dying for an update on our little lover! He’s so cute!! He says so many words now, like a lot. Car, Gui-Gui (Guinness), Nite Nite (to tell Guinness to lay down and go to bed), Hot, Cold, Down, Up, Toast (French Toast), Eggs, Juice, Milk, Cup, Mama, Dada, Papa, Kiss, Kitty, Cat, Puppy and this is just the tip of the ice burge, he says more and more words everyday. Plus words that your not sure what he’s saying but he’s trying. My favorite is pickle. I can’t type it out but it’s the way he says it it’s hilarious. It’s like “pickle pickle pickle” but all slurred together and really fast. He’s very much the boss of us, which I’m trying to move away from. He sorta runs us… mostly because I hate it when he screams when he doesn’t get his way… I’m working on this. For example: in our new house he wants to turn on and off every light and gets pissed when we don’t let him… don’t worry people I don’t always give in, it just depends on how tired I am.

This winter has been pretty cold and snowy so Max has been getting some good use out of his new snowsuit and snow boots.  I’ll post some pictures from Christmas time at my parents’ house when he got to put it on and go outside and play! He had a blast with me and grandma and of course helping daddy shovel the driveway.  Next year will be fun I think he will be old enough to go sledding.  Sounds like a job for daddy right! Ha!

Let’s see what else has happened. Like I said there’s been a lot – mostly centered around us moving and the fact that we are having another bouncing baby boy!! We are thrilled at this and are so excited for Max to have a new best friend. I always wanted my boys to be close in age so they can have each other’s back and stuff, I hope that this is how my boys turn out. I don’t care though; I’ll be the parent that tells them to be nice to each other I don’t care honestly. I just hope this second one is as good as Max was… Ahhh!! Honestly I don’t think Kevin can take a screamer, he hates it when Max throws fits now! Cross your fingers people.. and for those of you secretly dying for us to have a screamer – shame on you - Ha! 

I will say this pregnancy has been a bit tougher than my first. Mostly b/c my 19 month old little man still loves for me to hold him and picked him up. Not so easy on ones back when they are realistically carrying two babies – I don’t care though I love holding and snuggling with him – it’s just better in my lazy-boy chair than standing. Also important to note baby #2 is measuring just a big as Maxwell was – if not bigger. So looks like we’ve got another giant on our hands. We’ve again had to visit the High Risk doctor to ensure everything is AOK with our little guy and things are looking great! In fact we’ve even gotten to see the 4D ultrasound soo cool people! And he’s beautiful!




Alright this is all I have for now... I will do my best and type more later & add pictures.


Monday, December 3, 2012

Big News!!

Yikes! Okay to tell you the truth I can’t remember when the last time I blogged was. I’m sorry everyone we have been so busy it’s been unimaginable. I’ll start with the biggest news I’ve got an work down through the rest and sprinkle a few worthwhile stories in their while I go. 

Okay well our biggest news is that we are EXPECTING again. That’s right Maxwell and Guinness are getting another sibling! I am today roughly 15.5 weeks.  We are so excited! We always knew we wanted Max to have a sibling close in age and as Kevin has fond memories of growing up so closely in age to his older brother Kyle so we decided in August to go for it and low and behold we are due in May.  May 24th to be exact… so we are very happy about our growing family! We understand there will be a learning curve and trust me the first three months after baby are still very fresh in my mind, but we are looking forward to the challenge and if Max can remain the wonderful helper we have today we should be all good! P.S. I haven't posted yet to Facebook so if you're on Facebook post just yet I'm working on a cute photo!:)

Speaking of our little Max, he is now officially running, talking all sorts of gibberish and loves being with his mommy and daddy! He’s great! He’s also entered into the only mommy can hold me stage and if I don’t get my way I will throw my whole body on the ground stage. I am very good at ignoring him, as this is what the doctor has instructed us to do.  On a bright note, we’ve also entered into the snuggling and kisses stages so everything weights itself out. Life with Max is good! We are so blessed!

Max has also been upgraded to the Toddler class at school and is doing so good. He’s learning new things everyday; playing games, singing, dancing, learning and having a blast. He’s the youngest in his new class but the teacher says he’s so fun and doing awesome. I went and picked him up the other day and they were headed outside, he had his coat on and was holding hands with two other kids in a line, it was so cute!! He’s so cute! And growing up so quickly! You know if you ask him where his nose is he’ll point to it and his tummy too. Then he’ll want to see your belly too. And kisses, how he loves to give kisses! Ha!

And now to our other news… drum-roll please.... we sold our house and have entered into a contract on another one! Okay wait what did I say?? Yep we sold our house and have entered into contract on our next house.  Ha!  Okay this is a long story I’m going to do my best to write a summary here so I’ll start at the beginning.

One of my favorite apps is the Homes app on my iPod, for the longest time I have been tracking this house in Canfield because I found it absolutely beautiful and it was almost in our price range.  One day I was checking my app and this house I loved (4 bedrooms, 2 acres of land, Canfield) had dropped down to our target price range.  I called Kevin and told him and one a whim we but agreed that I should call the realtor and see if we couldn’t just “check it out” because after all it doesn’t hurt to look. 

So I called the realtor, Geri, and while I was on the phone with her she told me how it was bank owned and they wouldn’t do a deal contingent on us selling our home so if we loved it we’d have to see, which we would have to do to get our equitity to buy it.  So she started asking me about our house and said that she knew of 5 people looking for that exact type of house now, as inventory was low.  I laughed but thought what the hell. So that upcoming weekend we met with her to discuss the house I loved and our house to get an idea of what we could sell it for. She gave us a good number, which shocked us and got us excited. We figured we would never sell our house for what we bought it for since we purchased it before the real estate crash, but she insisted that we could so hmm our minds begin to roll.

Well we went to check out the house that I loved and it was amazing but needed a lot of work. Let’s just say that the guy living there and his daughter may be selling crack and his daughter is definitely a prostitute.  The house was trashed, imagine Kevin’s house he lived in during college (beer cans and all) and you’ve got it.  It was a beautiful shell but lots of money to repair. This house is easily a $500,000 house with some major work… but I wasn’t ready for a money pit!   So we moved on, but were still enlightened by the idea of selling our home.

So one idea led to another and with interest rates etc we thought what the hell, let’s sell our house and buy another. After all we could get twice the house and still be making the same mortgage payment, thanks to the low interest rates.  A week later and we had offers, a few days into the negotiations we had one we liked and went contingent.  So now we had to find another house for us. 

So over the course of a week and a half, Kevin, Max and I checked out a few dozen homes and finally settled on one that was perfect. Almost an acre of land, Canfield, 4 bedrooms, plenty of space to grow… something that fit us!! We love it.  And have had our offer accepted.  Wow! It’s been a crazy few weeks.

So here we are; Baby #1 – Mr. Maxwell – is doing amazing, Baby #2 is growing quickly and hungry as ever, we’re moving and things are good! Mommy and Daddy are very blessed! 2012 has been a good year for us, and we are excited to see what 2013 will bring.

Okay long blog – more later!
I’ll posts pictures later too! 




Monday, October 15, 2012

Pumpkin Patch Weekend

So let’s see the last time I blogged the Hopkinson’s had a very busy weekend of apple picking and craft markets! Wow that seems like a decade ago, even if it was only a few weeks ago. We’ve been keeping it pretty low key the past few weeks, hence the lack of blog updates. Ha! However, this past weekend was action packed and lots of fun!

A few years ago – I say 6 years ago, but it’s definitely been at least 5 – Kevin and I discovered this awesome “Pick Your Own” Pumpkin Patch in Columbiana, Ohio.  A short 15 minute drive from our house.  And when I say discover I’m serious we literally stubbled upon it one fall weekend afternoon and feel in love with it. It’s so much fun and we have such a great time.  The place really hasn’t changed much since our first Pumpkin Picking experience except now we’ve been there so many times we know where they’ve grown pumpkins each year which is fun to reminisce. 

So this past weekend our annual Pumpkin Patch trip happened! Last year Memaw came with us and acted as our personal photographer and this year Memaw and Papa and our Nephew Xavier came! I see a long-standing family tradition developing. Now Xavier is only 5 months old so he’s not walking around yet but I think he had a blast – when he wasn’t snoozing:)!   We arrived, got our handstamps and quickly boarded the hay ride out to the patch! Now this is Max’s 2nd Year pumpkin picking so he knew what to do… okay not really but he loved the ride out and enjoyed the apples that are provided!!  Once we got out the field I can say without a doubt this was the most pumpkins we had ever seen in the patch.

So out to the patch we went and pumpkins we a pick. Kevin got a huge pumpkin for himself (because he’s the daddy), I got a nice medium sized one for me (because I’m the mommy) and Max got a nice little pumpkin. Memaw and Papa picked up a few and Xavier got a small one for himself as well! Afterward our picking was a done we headed out of the patch on the hayride and check out the farms new puppy and the farm animals.  It was a successful day and I can’t wait for all the years ahead of us and for all the fun we are going to continue to have with our little traditions!!

After pumpkin picking we went to dinner at Bob Evan’s ( a nice family restaurant) that can safely handle a baby and a toddler! Xavier got hungry mid meal and had some smashed carrots – what a big boy! Go Xavier! Max ate like a little piggy and was very well behaved!! Go Max!

On Sunday, we went to breakfast with everyone plus Grandpa Herman at Perkins! The weather was beautiful and it was a good breakfast! Max had a disaster in his pants while at the restaurant and it was a disaster to clean up. I’m only blogging about this because 1 it was embarrassingly funny and 2 I just have to tell everyone. Ha! So I take Max to the bathroom cause he’s obviously gone poop and I’m taking off his pants and poop falls out of his pants! I’m like oh my gosh! It takes me 10 minutes to clean up this mess and a whole thing of wipes. I’m telling the ladies in the bathroom I’m so sorry and everyone is like don’t worry about it we’ve been there – that was nice! After I get Max cleaned up I go to look for my spare outfit and all I have is 2 Shirts & a pair of socks. Are you kidding me! So I roll up the dirty stuff and shove it into a sealed pocket in the bag and put on the shirt and new socks. I’ve got no choice but to take the kid as he is out of the bathroom.  Red faced and trying to hide my half dressed child – I run into my family on their way out the door - thank goodness!  Luckily for me the weather was 70 plus degrees and Max wasn’t freezing his ass off! So here is my child now – shoes (which I had left at the table thank goodness again), socks, a diaper, long shelved tee, winter jacket, hat. Ha ha ha! Are you kidding me!  Let’s just say I went home and thoroughly disinfected his diaper bag and restocked it with appropriate clothing and supplies so if there is ever a disaster again I’m ready!!

And that my friends was our weekend! How’s everyone doing!!?

More pictures coming - gotta contact my photographer Memaw!
The Hopkinson's

Got Apples?

Mommy, Max & Daddy

Daddy & Max

Apple & Smiles!

Mommy is funny!


My hat!



Max & Me!

The Boys and their Memaw!







Monday, September 24, 2012

Apple Orchard & Craft Show Weekend - (September 15-16-17)


Okay I’m behind again so I’m playing catch up… hey that’s okay! So not last weekend but the weekend before that Kevin, Max and I had a very crafty weekend! Every year Canfield has an annual Fall Market and Craft Show. It’s a lot of fun and a good family event to attend. We usually just walk around and occasionally buy some cookies or something. This year we were up early – of course – so we were one of the first bunches of people there.  IT was fun! We did our usual thing walked around and bought cookies.. Then we found this lady that knitted these cute hats and naturally had to buy Max one.  We bought him one that looks like Oscar the Grouch, and with the weather turning to fall we’ve already been able to wear it.. SO cute!! We also bought our usual batch of colored sweet peppers at the market and I have cut those up and frozen them for the winter. Gotta love it and it saves lots of money when colored peppers are expensive.

After the Canfield Fall Market we went home, took a nap, ate lunch and then went out to an Apple Orchard in Columbiana – about 15 minutes – if that – from us! It was awesome!! This was by far the best orchard we’ve ever been to. The rows were clean, the apples were huge, the weather was perfect and we had the best time. Max loved it! He was running around eating apples and chasing daddy and mommy! We got one peck of apples for a mere $8 and were there for well over an hour. It was a blast! This will definitely become a family tradition!

Pictures to come on my other computer!! Yikes!!

We love doing outside activities – so far we’ve got ourselves marked down for our annual apple picking trip, pumpkin picking trip, Christmas tree cutting and strawberry picking – I’m going to have to find more of these as they are the best stuff you can do together as a family!

On Sunday we went to another craft show at White House Fruit Farm! Holy moly can they pack people in there. It was by far the most insane thing I've ever seen!! However, it was a good time and we came home was so tasty fresh veggies! Gotta love fall everyone! 













Friday, September 7, 2012

Playing Catch Up - As usual!


Is it just me or am I always playing catch up on here… yep I’m always playing catch up. Each time I blog I promise to update more regularly than one week goes by than 2 weeks go by then I’ve got so much ground to cover. Oh well, I’ll try to do better from here forward.  Don’t laugh too hard whomever’s reading.

Okay so where do I start. Looks like the last time I blogged I was telling you what a great little eater my little man has become… well that’s right he is quite the great little eater.  I couldn’t be prouder of how far he’s come along and I can’t even begin to express how much less stress I have! It’s great! We’ve even begun to feed him everything that we are eating since he has started to demand it. My mom even gave him steak this past Labor Day weekend – yes steak and he loved it.  And no Memaw it wasn’t a “gray” well done steak (I know your favorite just teasing), but a nice medium! He really enjoyed it!

So let’s catch up on what’s we’ve been doing these past few weeks, first let me begin by saying I’m so excited for the fall – the leaves changing, jeans, sweaters, football and things just slowing down. We’ve been non-stopped since the beginning of May and I’m ready to have things relax a bit.  I’m also ready for warm fall/winter meals and family gatherings, Halloween, pumpkin picking, apple farms,  etc etc etc… ahh I’m so ready! How about everyone else?

Alright so since my last blog – Xavier, our 4 month old nephew, was baptized in his church in Akron, Ohio.  It was a nice mass – different than a catholic mass – so it was a good contrast to what I’m used too.  He did a great job and didn’t cry once during his “dunking”.  Maxwell was also well behaved. He enjoyed moving about the pew, playing with his Aunt Dawn and Uncle Dan and kissing his Memaw, overall he didn’t steal the show from his cousin too much and was very well behaved. Thanks goodness!

After Xavier’s baptism we spent sometime together as a family at the Vuchak’s house.  They live in this very beautiful, large 2 story Tudor in Akron. It’s a very beautiful home and Kate’s taste is impeccable.  Makes me feel like decorating, except our home is just for the next few years so I’m constantly thinking about that when it comes time to decorate or anything.  I’m just keeping it simple, but someday I’ll just have Kate come over and decorate our new home! Ha!

The weekend after that was a relaxing family weekend, just me and the boys.  We went out to the Canfield – MetroParks Farm and checked out the baby animals, went shopping and did the Olive Garden thing. Man the weekends go so fast, this one in particular went by in a flash.  We did manage to spend a few dollars at the Baby R’ Us buying Mr. Max quite a few new outfits. Preparing for fall after all and buying him so new Nikes.  Man this kid has nicer shoes than me! Go figure!



 - More photos can be seen on my photo blog too - lemoneyesphoto.blogspot.com.

So this past weekend, Labor Day Weekend, we got to make our annual trip to the Farmhouse in the Catskill Mountains, near Andes, NY. We really enjoy ourselves here, although it’s not exactly a luxurious vacation!  Kevin and I have made some nice memories here, having spent about 2 weeks here the summer after we graduated college, with my sisters Samantha! This was before we brought 4-wheelers up with us and so we did lots of mountain hikes, bonfires, and creek swimming. It was so much fun, and we love going back every summer on Labor Day – when we can.  Last summer we had to skip our annual trip because Max was just a newborn and the farmhouse is no place for a newborn – although I think we could have done it.

So we left on Thrusday night around 6:30ish – and arrived at the farm around midnight or a little later – okay it was later.  The trip was good. Max slept and/or watched Disney movies on our new headrest DVD players – a most to parents with a Toddler!! If you have children, take car trips and don’t have these - god bless you!  We just bought these and were very grateful, if you can’t tell!

Once we arrived at the farmhouse, we unpacked the necessities and headed to bed. Max was of course up at this point and excited so putting him down was a challenge but eventually he did go to sleep – on top of me - because he refused to go to bed. And then the kiddo woke up bright and early – 5 a.m. ready to start his day. I took him downstairs and we watched Disney Jr. – luckily we have Direct TV in the mountains, otherwise I would have been extremely tired that day! 

Max loved the farmhouse, we played in the stream, took photos, rode 4-wheelers, walked the mountain, played golf – yes we were the people with a 14 month old on the golf course, went shopping in town, went to a farm event, ate lots of yummy food and spent time with my parents and each other! So much fun!

Now this fun didn’t come without it’s fair share of bumps and bruises. Being on a mountain Max had a whole new environment to navigate.  Rocks, uphills, downhill, etc etc etc. All and all he did good and didn’t come out looking like a Rocky movie or anything!

Golfing was so much fun! We were all worried about Max, please don’t cry, please don’t act up, but what were we thinking he was so good. He loved being on the green and picking the balls up, he loves the golf cart and he enjoying being with Momma and Daddy!  There were a few moments when I got a little worried – when the ranger would come around etc., but we kept pace and Max was pretty good! I even played well, hello what do you expect people I’m amazing! Ha!  I took some good pictures with my dad’s iPhone so I will download those and upload them a little later.

We also had fun in the stream. My mom and Kevin built these really neat steps down to the path that leads down to the stream. We had a lot of fun with that, and Max really liked being down in the stream, okay he wasn’t to pleased with the temp. of the water but in a few years we are going to have to pull him from there!  He’s gonna love it! I can’t wait!!

By far Max’s favorite thing to do is ride 4-wheelers, I think he could be on those all day!!! Daddy took him up and down the mountain over and over again. He loved it! I know my sister would go on and on about how unsafe it is, but Daddy is very careful and Max has been riding for months, he knows the drill! And like I said he loves it, he screams when it’s time to come off!! Literally!

So after a few blissful days in the woods, it was time to come back to reality.  And here we are Friday before yet another weekend! Yippie!

Below are some pictures! (coming later today!)! I will be sure to add more as I get them and also update my photo blog – lemoneyesphoto.blogspot.com!

Til next time!


Walking to our path now to the river - creek - whatever!:)


Grandma & Max - hmm I wonder what they are looking at?


Max, Grandma & Max on our way to the creek!


Max artsy photo of the creek!


Ahh!! Get me out of here!! The water is really cold!


Guinness loved the creek!


Check out that Boulder - 6 years ago that was not there!


Love my boys!


Grandpa & Max!!


Max going down the stairs with his golf club!


Early morning golf lesson - yes my mom is in her PJs.


Lunch! Yum!


At that Farm thing we went too!


Max was being stubborn about pictures!


Isn't he cute! Love the hat right!


A farmers sandbox... ? With corn?


My cutie!


Making our path!


Grandma hard at work!


Family Photo - like I said it's not glamorous here!


In front of the farmhouse... it's really old people!


Family photo I look bad! Ha!










Farmhouse - it's really old!


Mr. Max!